## CLASS:--12<sup>TH</sup>, POLITICAL SCIENCE, CHAPTER:-01

## **CHALLENGES OF NATION BUILDING**

## **Integration of Princely States**

- There were two types of provinces in British India—The British Indian Provinces (directly under the control of the British Government) and Princely states (governed by Indian princes).
- Immediately after independence there were almost 565 princely states. Many of them joined Indian Union.
- Travancore, Hyderabad, Kashmir and Manipur initially refused to join Indian Union.